Cardiovascular Division


Providing outstanding, innovative clinical care to every patient is our guiding principle. It is the foundation for everything we do and the driving force behind our Lillehei Heart Institute/University of Minnesota Physicians Cardiovascular Program. We are pleased to share with you the scope of our program for service to you, your patients, family members, and friends.

  • In memory of Dr. Alan T. Hirsch - Professor of Medicine, Epidemiology, & Community Health and leader in the Medical School's Vascular Medicine Program. 

    Beloved professor, colleague, mentor, and friend
  • Mpls/StPaul Mag 2017 Rising Stars

    Mpls/StPaul Magazine has named Rebecca Cogswell, MD and Henri Roukoz, MD "Rising Stars" in its Top Doctors listing for 2017.

  • Jop van Berlo Awarded King Asst. Professorship

    Jop van Berlo, M.D., Ph.D has been awarded the Lois and Richard King Assistant Professorship in the Department of Medicine. This position is awarded based on scholarly inquiry and academic success in basic science research. The award is $50k/yr until the holder is promoted to associate professor.

  • Dr. Gary Francis co-authors 2 AHA Scientific Statements
    “Contributory Risk and Management of Comorbidities of Hypertension, Obesity, Diabetes Mellitus, Hyperlipidemia, and Metabolic Syndrome in Chronic Heart Failure.” Read Article

    “Current Diagnostic and Treatment Strategies for Specific Dilated Cardiomyopathies”  Read Article

  • Chandreshekar appointed
    Editor-in-Chief of JACC Imaging

    Dr. Y.S. Chandreshekar has been appointed Editor-in-Chief of JACC: Cardiovascular Imaging. His term is expected to commence on March 1st, 2017.