• Medical Education in the Department of Medicine

    The Department is an innovative leader in medical education and has developed new, exciting curricula for medical student and resident education.

  • Research in the Department of Medicine

    The Department of Medicine is one of the top research departments in the United States and represents the largest research faculty group at the University of Minnesota.

  • Nesbitt Chair & Head of the Department of Medicine

    Peter Igarashi, MD

    As the Nesbitt Chair & Head of the Department of Medicine, Dr. Igarashi leads the department's efforts towards the mission to improve the health and well-being of people, now and in the future, by providing exemplary medical care, discovering and applying new knowledge, and training the next generation of physicians in the science and practice of medicine.

Enhancing the health of Minnesota, the nation, and the world through innovation in research, education and patient care.

Weekly Conferences

Andrew OlsonCongratulations to Dr. Andrew Olson! The University of Minnesota Medical School has selected Andrew as the recipient of the 2018 Distinguished Mentoring Award. This newly created award recognizes the co-curricular contributions that faculty make that impact medical education and medical students. This award honors faculty who consistently serve as effective mentors and advisors to medical students during their four years of medical school. Event: Dean’s Tribute to Excellence in Education