Fellowship Programs


The University of Minnesota Gastroenterology Fellowship Training Program is an ACGME-accredited, three-year program. The program currently consists of five training sites:

  • University of Minnesota Medical Center
  • Minneapolis VA Health Care System
  • Hennepin County Medical Center
  • Regions Hospital
  • Abbott-Northwestern Hospital

Twenty-six faculty members and a current complement of eleven trainees make up the Gastroenterology Fellowship Training Program.

We offer excellent training in all aspects of gastroenterology including standard GI procedures, biliary endoscopy, inflammatory bowel disease care, viral hepatitis, liver transplantation, and esophageal motility.  

Fellowship Intranet (x500 Protected)

Teacher of the Year

2014-2015 Dr. Michael Shaw
2013-2014 Dr. Shawn Mallery
2012-2013 Dr. Jeffery Albrecht
2011-2012 Dr. Christopher Shepela
2010-2011 Dr. Mohamed Hassan
2008-2009 Dr. Aasma Shaukat