Cardiovascular News & Events

Dr. Cogswell

Dr. Rebecca Cogswell has been featured in a recent article from the University of Minnesota Foundation titled "Dr. Cogswell's Pioneering Cardiac Care." In the article Dr, Cogswell discusses her leading-edge work with patients suffering low heart function and preparing for heart transplant or surgically-implanted mechanical assist devices. Her clinical research has made significant contributions to the development of new assist devices and treatment of advanced heart failure.

May 13, 2019

Graduate Hotel, University of Minnesota Campus
615 Washington Ave SE, Minneapolis, MN 55414
2nd floor, Pinnacle Ballroom

Co-Chairs: David G Benditt, MD FACC FHRS FRCPC FESC, Professor of Medicine and
Venkat Tholakanahalli, MD FACC FHRS, Associate Professor of Medicine

2:15 - 3:00 pm: Refreshments and Visit Exhibits

heart walk

May 18, 2019

7:00am Gates open
8:30am Opening ceremonies

Walk begins promptly after the opening ceremonies.

Target Field
1 Twins Way
Minneapolis, MN 55403

Kurt Prins

U of M Cardiologist and LHI researcher Kurt Prins, MD, PhD has recently earned two separate young investigator awards. 

Butrous Young Investigator Award in Pulmonary Arterial Hypertension.

This award recognizes the best abstract for an investigator who is under the age of 35. Dr. Prins was named winner at the annual Pulmonary Vascular Research Institute Annual meeting. The award comes with a $500 stipend.

Sam Dudley

"Research out of University Minnesota Medical School and published in the Journal of Clinical Investigation Insights uncovers what causes diastolic heart failure and how it can be treated." Read more

Sue Duval

Professor Sue Duval, Ph.D. of the Cardiovascular Division and Division of Biostatistics will be honored at the Medical School's Wall of Scholarship induction ceremony October 25, 2018. The Wall of Scholarship recognizes faculty authors each time an individual publication reaches 1000 citations. Dr. Duval’s 2018 honor is for her paper, “A nonparametric "trim and fill" method of accounting for publication bias in meta‐analysis,” published in the Journal of the American Statistical Association in 2000. This will be Dr.

Circulation article

A new AHA Statement on Atrial Fibrillation Burden was just published in Circulation. Lin Yee Chen, MD, MS is the lead author of this Scientific Statement and chaired the AHA Writing Committee whose goal was to define the new entity of AF burden, articulate its clinical significance, and highlight the critical knowledge gaps.

Lin Yee Chen

Lin Yee Chen, MD, MS has just been awarded a new R01 grant from the National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute, "Left Atrial Abnormality and Atrial Fibrillation-Related Cerebral Infarcts and Cognitive Decline" (R01HL141288, 2018-2022). The overarching goal of this project is to clarify whether it is AF per se, or the underlying left atrial abnormality, that is the principal driver of outcomes that are currently attributable to AF.

Chetan Shenoy

Chetan Shenoy, MD, has been named a winner of the ASCI's 2018 Young Physician-Scientist Award. Dr. Shenoy’s was among 117 nominations submitted for the 2018 Award and reviewed by the ASCI Meeting Committee. From these, 35 nominees were selected on the basis of accomplishments to date and the quality of proposed abstracts.